Introducing: New Mexico State football

Trevor Mcnaboe

New Mexico State, located in Las Cruces, New Mexico, will play host to this weekend’s matchup against Georgia Southern.

The Aggies are in their 81st year as a football program, dating back to 1931. The program took a brief hiatus from 1943-1945, during World War II, but he team started back up in 1946 and has been in action ever since.

Overall, New Mexico State has an all-time record that falls below .500, coming in at 299-539-14. The team won four conference championships in 1938,1960,1976 and 1978.

The Aggies have bounced around conferences in their history, starting in the Border Intercollegiate Athletic Association from 1931-1961. They made three appearances in the Sun Bowl during this time, winning in 1959 and 1960 and tying in 1935.

New Mexico State then went into a period where they had no conference affiliation for a decade. They compiled 54 wins in that span. After 1972, the Aggies struggled to find a winning season, compiling only one in the next two decades (1978).

In 2001, the Aggies began the first of two of their stints in the Sun Belt Conference. This lasted for four seasons, where the team went 20-27 before jumping to the Western Athletic Conference.

In the eight seasons in the WAC, the Aggies did not have a winning season. During this time, they never won more than four games in a single season.

This season is the first season that New Mexico State has come back to the Sun Belt Conference after a 2-10 finish last year as an Independent.

The Aggies play their home games at Aggie Memorial Stadium, a facility that was built in 1978 and holds a little over 30,000 at maximum capacity.

Second-year coach Doug Martin is at the helm for New Mexico State, with an overall record of 4-11. Previously, he held the position of offensive coordinator for New Mexico State in 2011 and Boston College in 2012 before returning to Las Cruces.

The game is set to kick off at 8 p.m. Eastern Time, 6 p.m. local.