2020-2021 SGA Election Results

Credit: Student Government Association

Credit: Student Government Association

Davis Cobb, Correspondent

STATESBORO — After the election period taking place at the beginning of the week, the results are in for the Student Government Association’s 2020-21 positions.

1,068 students from all three of Georgia Southern’s campuses voted in the election: 917 from Statesboro, 130 from Armstrong, and 21 from Liberty. The results are as follows.

Executive Officers

  • President- Kahria Haldey, Senior
  • Executive Vice President- Nailah Mitnaul, Graduate
  • Vice President of Finance- Ayanna Brewton, Junior
  • Director of Academic Affairs- Erika Love, Senior
  • Director of Student Affairs- Devin Stephens, Graduate
  • Director of Auxiliary Affairs- Amare McJolly, Sophomore
  • Director of Alumni Relations- Currently vacant
  • Director of Veteran Affairs- Sequoya McLendon, Senior
  • Director of Inclusive Excellence- Ayah Favors, Sophomore


  • Allen E. Paulson College of Engineering and Computing- Audrey Lowery (Sophomore), Shyon Scott (Senior), Joanna Njie (Junior), and Donte White (Junior)
  • College of Arts and Humanities- Kimmy Smith (Sophomore) and Gabriella Young (Freshman)
  • College of Behavioral and Social Sciences- Alex Hendricks (Sophomore), Bridgett Whitney (Junior, Armstrong Campus), Davis Green (Sophomore), Justin Morris (Freshman, Armstrong Campus) and Niyah Wilson (Sophomore)
  • College of Education- Korrina Bryan (Sophomore), Caitlin Nix (Freshman) and Lisa Wilson (Sophomore)
  • College of Science and Mathematics- Deshae Deans (Senior) and Rhea Patel (Sophomore, Armstrong Campus)
  • Jack N. Averitt College of Graduate Studies- Audrienna Varner (Graduate) and LaShunda Morris (Graduate)
  • Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public Health- Vacant
  • Parker College of Business- Ariela Samour (Sophomore, Armstrong Campus), Taylor Gray (Junior), Grace Root (Junior), Taqueria Mathis (Freshman), and Anna Beck (Freshman)
  • Waters College of Health Professions- Amina Sarr (Sophomore), Alex Belvin (Sophomore), Alaina Knapp (Sophomore, Armstrong Campus), and LaNaya El-Amin (Junior)
  • Liberty Campus- Shanice Patterson (Sophomore) and Marycarmen Rafael (Sophomore)
  • First Year Students- Jose Restrepo (Freshman, Armstrong Campus) and Allison Lair (Freshman)
  • At Large- Kennedy Finch (Junior) and Beverly Leitelt (Senior, Armstrong Campus)

20 Senator positions still need to be filled; only the Liberty Campus, First-Year Students, and College of Behavioral and Social Sciences groups are full at the time of election. Alongside this, four Executive Officer positions also remain vacant: Director of Alumni Relations, one representative from the Statesboro and Armstrong Campuses each for both Deputy Director of Finance and Chief of Staff, and Marketing Coordinator.

Of these remaining positions, all will be decided by an SGA committee comprised of the Executive Vice President, a Director, two Senators, and the SGA Speaker, who will choose appropriate representatives to appoint to each position. For the Senator positions, at least 6 of them must be filled by representatives of the Armstrong Campus. The process and form for appointment will be posted to the SGA website November 1.