Spiritual Healing: A Two-Part Series

Araya Jackson

Part One: Understanding Your Chakra System

Society likes to push for a self-love and self-acceptance mindset when a new year rolls around, but many tend to fall short and lose sight of these goals as time progresses.

This is because it’s hard to manifest your own happiness if you don’t understand it. You cannot truly make yourself happy until you have complete self-awareness of all aspects of yourself. A way to realize your body, emotions, thoughts and desires is by channeling in on your individual energy fields or chakra system.

If you’re thinking “cha-what system?!”, fear not. This is part one of a two-part guide to spiritual awareness and healing in order to love yourself as deeply as possible.

This half of the series is all about awareness: understanding the invisible, yet wildly powerful energy system that lies within us all.

Right this moment, everything on this planet is radiating energy. From crashing ocean waves to a freshly cut blade of grass, and even every individual cell within ourselves, it’s all emitting energy. Humans have their own unique system of energy, called the chakra system.

Pronounced “cha”- “kra” (don’t overthink it), chakra literally translates to “wheel” or “disk.” In the art of yoga and meditation, it represents the seven wheels of energy that run from the tail of the spine to the crown of the head. Each chakra wheel corresponds to certain parts of the body, such as major organs and nervous systems, where matter and consciousness meet and majority of energy is produced. Each whirling ball produces what’s called Prana: vital energy that makes you happy, healthy, mindful and vibrant. So, to fully make yourself happy is to channel your energy fields.

Because your chakras are constantly moving wheels, it’s crucial to keep them opened and aligned to allow energy to move effortlessly in a constant stream. When there’s a blockage, energy cannot travel, and our mind, body, and soul suffers. Negative experiences create this blockage. Lifestyle, habits, diets, words, thoughts, relationships and experiences all affect our chakras and influence our bodies’ flow from each one. It’s so important to be aware of how our actions affect our system, which in turn affects our well-being.

Each chakra is represented by a color that correlates with the vibrating frequency of each system. Light gives off electromagnetic waves, which vibrates at different rates and has colors to depict each speed. The chakras use this same color key. Red, for example, represents slower-moving vibrations, while purple is a high frequency with sharp peaks.

Let’s summarize the seven chakras. Keep in mind that this is a brief skim of the detailed facts about this extraordinary system. Many credible websites have more information if you want to become an energy expert.

First: Muladhara or Root Chakra

Muladhara is located at the base of the spine. It encompasses the reproductive glands, first three vertebrae, bladder and colon. Muladhara is the chakra of stability, security and basic needs. When this chakra is open, we feel safe and grounded.

Second: Svadhisthana or Sacral Chakra

Svadhisthana is located about 3 inches below the navel. It encompasses the genital area and is associated with the lymphatic system. This is the chakra of creativity, sexual expression, emotional desire, spirituality and intention. Svadhisthana is at the foundation of our well-being. When this chakra is open, we are able to feel the world around us and within us.

Third: Manipura or Solar Plexus Chakra

Manipura is located where the diaphragm rests. It encompasses the area from the navel to the breastbone. This is the chakra of personal power, mental abilities, judgement clarity, self-discipline and independence. When this chakra is open, we are able to exert our power clearly and effortlessly.

Fourth: Anahata or Heart Chakra

Anahata is located in the heart area, at the center of the chest. It encompasses the thymus gland. This is the chakra that is the middle connection between the first three matter chakras and the next three spiritual chakras. Anahata serves as a bridge between mind, body and spirit. It’s associated with love for oneself and others, compassion, transformation and center of awareness. When this chakra is open, we feel deeply and harmoniously connected.

Fifth: Vishuddha or Throat Chakra

Vishuddha is located at the center of the neck, in the throat area. It encompasses the thyroid, jaw, mouth and tongue. This is the chakra of verbal expression, communication, realizing your vocation and sense of timing. When this chakra is open, we are able to speak at our highest truth and purpose.

Sixth: Ajna or Third Eye Chakra

Ajna is located on the forehead, between the eyebrows. It encompasses the pituitary gland. This is the chakra of higher intuition, vision, perception, psychic abilities, connection to wisdom and imagination. When this chakra is open, or awakened, we are able to listen to our intuition and heed its warnings.

Seventh: Sahaswara or Crown Chakra

Sahaswara is located at the crown of the head. It encompasses the central nervous system. This is the chakra of consciousness, enlightenment, dynamic thought, realization, ecstasy and divine self. When this chakra is open, our quality of awareness increases. We form a blissful union with our higher selves and the divine.

This introduction to your energy systems is only a start. There are ways in which each chakra affects our immune system, different diseases and other states of health. It affects how we view and treat ourselves and others. After you understand how to take each chakra into account in your daily lives, you will realize which ones are stronger than others. Then, you can move on to the healing process.

Stay tuned for part two to learn about spiritual healing with crystals!