Finding a new GSU President

Caitlyn Oliver

The committee required by the Board of Regents to look for Georgia Southern University’s next president has been formed and the members selected.

The Presidential Search and Screening Committee has 18 members, who are appointed by Board of Regents Chairman Neil Pruitt. The members include SGA President Charles Glover, Dean of Students Patrice Jackson, and Statesboro Mayor Jan Moore, as well as professors and directors from different GSU departments.

The committee will meet September 30 to receive its responsibilities, including the development of a position description, the placement of announcements, and conducting on-campus interviews.

When the process is over, three to five candidates will be submitted to the Regents’ Search Committee. The Regents Search Committee is responsible for recommending finalists to Chancellor Hank Huckaby, who makes a recommendation to the Board of Regents.